cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

Finding central axis of surface using VB API

ptc-6493023
1-Newbie

Finding central axis of surface using VB API

[Edit]

I've found a workaround using the Coordinate system and origin of the surface instead of working with Axis.

[Original message]----------------------------------------------------------------

Hello everyone!

I'm working on a project for automated model comparison and I am currently stuck. I am trying to find the central axis of cylindrical and conic surfaces but my code is not working properly. I would be very grateful if someone can help me solve my issue.

First things first, I am using wildfire 4.0 and this is my first time coding in VBA so there might be stupid mistakes.

I am using the following code:

For Each Axis In AllAxis_

On Error Resume Next

For Each axis_surf In Axis.Surf.ListSameSurfaces
If Not Err.Number = 0 Then
GoTo forend 'This is to prevent the code to crash when the axis has no linked surface
End If
If axis_surf.ID = surface.ID Then
SurfTable_(i).CentralAxis = Axis
FoundFlag = True
Exit For
End If

Next

'End If
If FoundFlag Then
FoundCount += 1
Sel.CreateModelItemSelection(surface, Nothing).Highlight(2) 'Highlight in white if surface axis is found

Exit For
End If

forend:

Next
If Not FoundFlag Then
NotFoundCount += 1
Sel.CreateModelItemSelection(surface, Nothing).Highlight(1) 'highlight in red if surface axis is not found
End If

I am testing my code on two different model. On one of them, all the central axis are found as expected and on the second one, a few axis are not found.