cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

Absolute beginner question-trial version vs. 15

ptc-5326644
1-Newbie

Absolute beginner question-trial version vs. 15

Sorry if this is the wrong place for this or if I'm violating any rules or customs-I've never posted anything like this before. Does the free student version talk to Mathcad 15? I downloaded the trial to work ahead on Physics 2 labs but I don't want to work it all out only to find it's not compatible with the version at school. Thank you for reading and again, if this is wrong in any way, accept my apologies.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Don't worry - its the right place to post.

I guess you mean Prime Express 3 vs. Mathcad 15.

The communication here is very limited, better said, nearly nonexistent!

1. MC15 can't read Prime files and there is absolutely no way to convert/save a Prime sheet to MC15 format.
  2. Prime won't read Mathcad 15 sheets either, but there is a way to convert legacy sheets to Prime format. You need a full installation of a current Mathcad 15 to be able to do so.

So if your school still uses Mathcad 15 (which is a good decision anyway), it would be adviseable to use that version, too. There is a trial version of Mathcad 15 to download, too, which will work for 30 days as will the trial of Prime. The difference is that after this trial period Prime will still work but in a very limited Express mode (no symbolics, no programming, no solve blocks,..) while MC15 will not work at all.