cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Creating A Vector of Functions - Possible?

aguter
1-Newbie

Creating A Vector of Functions - Possible?

I am somewhat new to Mathcad and I was wondering if this was possible to do.

I basically want to create a vector with stored functions.

See the attached mathcad v15 file with comments.

Thanks in advance for your comments!

12 REPLIES 12
Fred_Kohlhepp
23-Emerald I
(To:aguter)

You're close!

MJG
18-Opal
18-Opal

Fred's solution is obviously more concise.  However, to use an approach more similar to what you had attempted:

aguter
1-Newbie
(To:MJG)

Thanks Mark.

Still kinda new to the programming of MathCAD.

Within the for loop, is the name "result" meaningless unless used in the for loop again?

Also would you mind explaining what is wrong in my syntax/what MathCAD is interpreting my input as in the file I uploaded?

MJG
18-Opal
18-Opal

Austin,

Yes, the variable "Result" could be anything you want.  The main difference is that it's a variable, and not a function.  To make the program even more similar to what you had proposed, you could use the variable "PLF" and just get rid of the "(x)" in the two "if" lines.  However, the other difference is that the last line of your program must be the entirety of what you want the result to be.  If you left out the last line of my code, PLF(x) would just return a single value: Result[LastRow.

MJG
18-Opal
18-Opal

Hmm.. I'm wrong about the last line of the code.  however, I'm not sure why.  Anyone care to explain why this works?

The last line executed is Result[4, so shouldn't PLF(x) be equal to Result[4?

Fred_Kohlhepp
23-Emerald I