cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Finger Troubles

black_bird_blue
1-Newbie

Finger Troubles

O Learned Denizens,

I'm very new to MathCad but not so new to maths. I'm having trouble with understanding an answer posted to another topic, in terms of how I should actually enter the information - ie I'm struggling with the user interface a little.

What I want to do is symbolically solve for eigenvectors of a 3x3 matrix. I can do it manually with paper and pencil, and for sure it's a little cumbersome but it's not rocket science.

I can write down a 2x2 matrix of elements a11, a12, etc and persuade MatchCad to show me the symbolic solution to the eigenvalue problem.

When I ask the same thing for a 3x3 matrix I'm given the "results too large to display" message. It seems clear to me searching this forum that I need to assign the results to an array and view the results a chunk at a time.

Using an example off the forum I can break it into rows but the rows are still too large to display.

Solution:= Find(....)->
rows(Solution)->
Solution[subscript]0-> [symbolic display of interest]

Can anyone help me with the way to break down the row into further chunks so I can examine it?

Thanks in advance,

Damian
7 REPLIES 7

It sounds to me like you're asking for a symbolic answer. Mathcad is primarily a numeric solver--if you ask it for a numeric answer to your matrix I would be very surprised if it choked. But the embedded symbolic solver (Maple before version 14, Mupad for 14) has limited use.

That said, you may still get help from some of the people who know the symbolic solvers better than I.

Fred Kohlhepp
fkohlhepp@sikorsky.com
PhilipOakley
5-Regular Member
(To:Fred_Kohlhepp)