cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Learning functions

UKMan
1-Newbie

Learning functions

Hello,

Im new to mathcad and im learning everyday from books and the built in help..

i have to find out a few unknowns from the data provided.. I have plotted the graph in the attachment..I have attached the file in pdf to avoid compatibility issues. Ive also attached it in mathcad 13 format... Ive also attached the data sets from which i took the values from

but i dont understand how to use it or what parameters to give it?

Can you please help me out here.. Am i going right till now?

Thank you

16 REPLIES 16
Raiko
16-Pearl
(To:UKMan)

Hello UKman,

I'm not certain what you're after but the attached altered MC sheet may help. It is not an elegant solution but it will help to find peaks.

Basically, what I did is as follows:

• use a fitting function to create a polynomial
  • extract the coefficients of the fitting function

You need to create a polynomial with this coefficients which than can be evaluated as shown in the quicksheet "Finding roots of a polynomial"

Raiko

UKMan
1-Newbie
(To:Raiko)

Thanks a lot for your replt, Raiko.. but the file you attached is not working..

when in open it in Mathcad 14 it gives me an error saying "An unknown runtime error occurred.. Exiting.."

and after his the program crashes.. can you please look into it..

Thanks a lot for looking into this problem and for helping out..

can you please provide a working file.. Thank you

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member

The peak of what curve Hits or ss?

Mike

Hits is the plot of the actual data.. this is just one example of the data sets I have and most are very noisy.. so thats why i used supsmooth..

so I want to predict or find out the peaks of the ss curve..