cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Mathcad nightmare, from a 20-year user

GrantThompson
1-Newbie

Mathcad nightmare, from a 20-year user

I have been using Mathcad since 1991, have purchased nearly every version of Mathcad since 3.0, and use Mathcad almost every day.  My agency paid for Mathcad 15 well over a year ago, but I still do not have it installed on my desktop machine, despite numerous phone calls and e-mails.

I finally got a disk which was supposed to install Mathcad 15 on my desktop computer (it was installed on my laptop computer just a little while ago).  When I tried to install v15 on my desktop computer, the program un-installed v14, then told me I had no more licenses.  After several back-and-forths with somebody at PTC, I learned that I can install v15 on only one machine, even if I am the only user.

This was very disappointing, but I thought, "Oh, well, I can just re-install v14 on my desktop machine, and I will be no worse off than I was before my agency paid all that money for a program that I cannot even use except on my laptop."  Unfortunately, when I tried to re-install v14, I got an error message saying that some files could not be copied, and that I should close all programs and try again.  I have done this several times, to no avail.

When I brought this problem to the attention of the person at PTC who had been helping me identify my licensing problem, he or she directed me to the knowledge database.  I have searched, but did not find a solution.

Can anyone help me, please?

Thank you,

Grant

15 REPLIES 15

I know many Mathcad-users here in Russia who are buying a legal version of Mathcad, but then they put on their computer pirated version. They do so because of problems with the license.

Hello!