cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

Redefine or erase predefined unit

mlavery
4-Participant

Redefine or erase predefined unit

I am using MathCad 15 and am working on some simple calculations to get used to the MathCad environment and syntax since I am pretty new to using MathCad.

Unfortunately I ran into a seemingly small problem to which I can't find a satisfying solution:

I defined a function f(t) which I wanted to plot in a 2D-XY-diagramm.  Since t is predefined as ton (t=10^3 kg) I get an error trying to plot my function f(t) over t.

Is there any way I can redefine or erase t so I can use it as a variable to plot my diagramm? I know I could use any other variable, but it just bothered me that I cannot use t for time.

Thank you very much in advance!

6 REPLIES 6
VladimirN
24-Ruby II
(To:mlavery)

Please attach your Mathcad worksheet.

LucMeekes
23-Emerald III

Simply define t, e.g. as:

t:=0,0.1...15

to have it run from 0 to 15 with steps of 0.1.

Below the your definition Mathcad will not know tonne defined as t. You may get a green underline below your definition of t, to signify that you've redefined a previous definition (you've overriden tonne defined as t).

Luc

Just do something like:  i:=0; 100  and ti := tend*i/100  (where you will have predefined tend, of course).  (And ti is t subscript i,  t[i )

Alan

-MFra-
21-Topaz II

Hi Melanie Lavery,

...you must remember that....

Tonnef and tonf.jpg

Greetings

F. M.

What you describe is a very annoying effect which is present only in localized versions of Mathcad. I also experienced the same problem in my German version and its one of the reasons I only use Mathcad with language set to English (this cures the problem).