cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Total Beginner Confusion

ptc-4543224
1-Newbie

Total Beginner Confusion

Dear All

OK, I'm a bit nervous about landing on PlanetPTC, so I thought I'd explain why I've come here to ask for help.

I'm a 68 year old metallurgical engineer, recently retired. That's at least three reasons why I need a bit of help. I don't do TwitBook or any of this new fangled social networking stuff in case I forget that quite a few engineers, most of them with exceptional engineering skills, have aspergic tendancies and can't communicate very well. In order to avoid both further softening of the brain, and daytime television (well actually any televison at all), I've started to look at a few projects from my past where I was a little uneasy about the result. This is the challenge. Engineers will know what I'm talking about: management in too much of a hurry, not enough resources to follow up the oddball result, a hunch that something doesn't smell right, intuition interacting with experience, etc.

I first touched a computer keyboard in 1964, and did a bit of programming up to the early '70's - anyone remember Elliot Autocode or Algol? - and some statistics, and have used spreadsheets extensively: SuperCalc, Quattro Pro and lately Excel. However, I've never used spread sheets solvers, which I think are actually optimisers a la Cox & Box (ICI Monographs on Statistical Techniques in Research & Production, Oliver & Boyd, mid 1950's). This was some 30 years before Taguichi's application of statistics to work at Ford in the 1980's