cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Units for CTE

tfoley-2
1-Newbie

Units for CTE

I am new to MC 3.1 and struggling with units.  For instance, how do you input the units for the coefficient of thermal expansion - 1/F or 1/K?

10 REPLIES 10
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:tfoley-2)

Just enter the unit (K or F) then raise it to power -1, by typing

^-1

to get:

Or

After the numeric value type

*1/

then add the unit, to get:

Success!
Luc

IMO, overwriting the built in units so that °F is wrong is not a good solution, and may lead to serious errors elsewhere in the worksheet.

Thanks.  Except when I do that it adds another K in the numerator (gives me K*K-1 or K*1/K depending how I do it).  And of course it carries that extra K into the units of my final differential volume calculation (K*m3).  I am obviously still doing something wrong.

I think I'll go back to Excel!

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite

You are trying to change the units of the result by typing units into the units placeholder. One of the major advantages of Mathcad over Excel is that it handles units, and it will not let you just change the units of a result in such a way that they are wrong. Multiply (or divide) by the units when you define the quantity. So I can define

Mass:=1*kg

If I evaluate it I see

Mass=1 kg.

If I want it in pounds instead I can type lb in the units placeholder to the right of he result, and the kg will disappear:

Mass=2.2046 lb

However, if I define mass as a unitless quantity

Mass=1

Then evaluate it, I get a unitless quantity

Mass =1

If I try to give it units in the result, Mathcad will include a unit to cancel it:

Mass=2.2046 1/kg lb

Mathcad included the 1/kg to make the result numerically and dimensionally correct.

I think I'll go back to Excel!