cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

calling one worksheet from within a loop in another

MichaelSchwende
1-Newbie

calling one worksheet from within a loop in another

Hello,

I am new to this software (and these forums) and have run into a problem that I don't know if mathcad can handle (I'm running Mathcad 14). I have a rather large application that looks up data values in tables, makes calculations, and produces an output, all based on a "section number" that is specified at the top of the program. It works great for individual section numbers, but now I am looking to have the program cycle through ALL the possible numbers. However, I'd rather not have my program become one massive "for" loop, nor would I like to add an indexed subscript to every single variable or make every variable instead a function of section number. This program is trying to be user-friendly and easily modified, so I'd prefer to leave the individual program as is, and "call" it from another worksheet, which itself is doing the looping over all numbers. Is there any way to accomplish this? I've tried having a "reference" to the original sheet in another sheet, which seems to work, but these references cannot be placed in loops. I'm open to other suggestions to accomplish this task, which really doesn't seem like it should be impossible but I have yet to find a way. Any ideas?

3 REPLIES 3

What you want to do is possible, but not completely trivial. You can create a function based on a scripted component that calls one worksheet frm another, and then put that function in a loop. There's an old thread on this topic here:

https://communities.ptc.com/message/84798#84798