cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Document Management

Markh74
7-Bedrock

Document Management

Good day

I am new to Windchill and I would like to describe a scenario for which I need some clarity on.

I create a "New" editable word document in Windchill and get a Windchill number ex: Test001 and Rev A.1

I then check out / Check in this document several times to edit it and end up with a final edition, lets say Rev A.7

Now Everyone is happy and the CEO signs the document, saves it as a PDF and sends it back to me as the Latest approved version.

Now I need to get this signed PDF document into Windchill and associate it somehow to the last Rev of the word document A.7 as they are in essence exactly the same except for file type (word to pdf) and the pdf is signed.

1 month later the CEO decides to change something in the company and the word document needs to be updated so it is checked out, updated and checked back in making it Rev A.8 but the signed pdf is not the same anymore and doesn't reflect the new changes although it was signed.

My question is what happens in this case where I have 1 signed, un-editable pdf that doesn't contain the recent changes of the word document Test001 Rev A.8 which is linked to word document A.7

and after a few more changes the CEO signs and saves as PDF. Now I sit with 2 signed PDF documents associated to different Revisions of the original word document.

I think I am confusing myself here...LOL

4 REPLIES 4
Dobi
14-Alexandrite
(To:Markh74)

Hi @Markh74 

Lots of ways to go here...