cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Instance and Generic are Incompatible - Solidworks with Windchill

AG_10559607
3-Visitor

Instance and Generic are Incompatible - Solidworks with Windchill

Hello PTC Community, 

I will start out by noting that I am fairly new to Windchill and Workgroup Manager.

My issue today concerns Solidworks, Windchill and Workgroup Manager.

I am working on an assembly that has only one configuration. The PTC knowledge base defines this as a generic assembly with one instance. I will explain the issue I am having after describing the steps I took:

1. In Workgroup Manager I selected  "Add to Workspace" for configuration assembly "12345@12345.SLDASM".
  2. A new window called "Add to Workspace" popped up. Under settings "Dependencies" and "Collect Related Business Objects", I set the following conditions:
    • "Dependent" = "Yes"
    • "Drawings" = "Yes"
    • "Family Table" = "Yes"
    • "Generics" = "Yes"
    • "CAD / Dynamic Documents" = "Yes"
  3. The above conditions correctly added the following objects that I expected:
  4. I proceeded to open object 12345@12345.SLDASM in Solidworks and make my design changes.
  5. When I was done with my changes I selected "Save" in Solidworks.
  6. As expected, Workgroup Manager then gave a pop-up window called "Conflicts". It gave the following text:
    • "Family Table member(s) were modified; but are not checked out in the workspace . The item(s) must be checked out to the workspace."
  7. In the table of this pop-up, the object 12345.SLDASM was found with column "Action" set to "Check Out entire family". I selected "OK" because I did want both 12345.SLDASM and 12345@12345@SLDASM to be checked out at the same time to allow them to be in 'sync'.