cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

What is the simplest way to compute for numbers of days between states ?

mcruz
1-Newbie

What is the simplest way to compute for numbers of days between states ?

I am looking for a way to compute for number of days between states in a workflow.  What would be the simplest option to take.  Also, it would be best if the resulting table can be downloaded to an excel spreadsheet so I can manipulate the data in various ways.

The object is to determine how long a specific state took to complete.

Hoping to get an answer soon.

PS.  I am not a developer or technical person.  I am more into project management.  But if this requires a specific technical approach I can have my developer look at it and try it out.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
tketz
4-Participant
(To:mcruz)

hi Manolette,

i think you want a field like "Days in Current State".

Your Administrator has to define an integer field " Days in Current State" with the computation:

IsEmpty(DaysCurrentState(), 0)

With the export items to excel function you can export this field and modify it in excel (im not sure why you want to modify).

If you need an matrix for every state you need a field for every state with computation like:

DaysInState("STATE")

Also you can get the Average Time in a State for a current set of items (Query):

Query("Issues for Average days in state", Project, avg(DaysInState("STATE")))

to display this information you need an item and/or create a report/dashboard

I hope this helps,

best regards,

Tobi

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
tketz
4-Participant

hi Manolette,

i think you want a field like "Days in Current State".

Your Administrator has to define an integer field " Days in Current State" with the computation: