cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Where are new MCAD Users Coming From?

mfrench
12-Amethyst

Where are new MCAD Users Coming From?

Hi Folks,

I'm a professor at a large university (40,000 undergrad students and grad students).  I'm teaching a math review class for grad students and asked them to vote on what software they wanted me to use, Mathcad, Matlab, Mathematica or Maple.  I briefly described each and told them Mathcad was capable and the easiest to use.  The vote was unanimous for Matlab, so that's what we're using.

I can't help thinking that MCAD users are a small and shrinking group.  Do we have any numbers on the size of the MCAD community and where new users might come from?

Thanks for your attention.

6 REPLIES 6
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:mfrench)

Mark French wrote:

Hi Folks,

I'm a professor at a large university (40,000 undergrad students and grad students).  I'm teaching a math review class for grad students and asked them to vote on what software they wanted me to use, Mathcad, Matlab, Mathematica or Maple.  I briefly described each and told them Mathcad was capable and the easiest to use.  The vote was unanimous for Matlab, so that's what we're using.

I wonder what the result would have been if they had the opportunity to do some coursework with each one for a week or so?  Out of curiosity, why did they choose Matlab? Familiarity? Commercial Use? Potential? Capability? ??

I can't help thinking that MCAD users are a small and shrinking group.  Do we have any numbers on the size of the MCAD community and where new users might come from?