cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Obtaining eigenvalues of an eigenfunction

rfari
1-Newbie

Obtaining eigenvalues of an eigenfunction

Hi, i'm studying Green Functions.

I need to obtain the positive eigenvalues of a function, at this time just for first six values, m=1..6

Can i do this in mathcad Prime 3.1??

there's a attached file.

Sem título2.png

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Werner_E
24-Ruby V
(To:rfari)

The symbolic solve is not helpful in this case. Better use a numeric solve block or the root-function.

Maybe the attached file helps.

WE

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Werner_E
24-Ruby V

The symbolic solve is not helpful in this case. Better use a numeric solve block or the root-function.

Maybe the attached file helps.

WE

rfari
1-Newbie
(To:Werner_E)

thank you very much!

I still have a question. I modified your file, and it still appear its correct to me. I modified just to get de positive values of beta, starting the first positive value in beta_1.

Is this version still right?

thanks!

Werner_E
24-Ruby V

Sorry, unfortunatly I can't read P3.1 files, just P3.0 ones. PTC had decides that even subversions should not backward compatible.

rfari
1-Newbie
(To:Werner_E)

Sem título2.png

Werner_E
24-Ruby V

I see. Obviously the results ar correct with the exception of the first vector entry - zero is not a solution!

You get this value because Prime by default numbers vector elements beginning with zero. The first value you assign is the one with index 1 (range m), so element with index 0 defaults to zero.

better assign beta[m-1:=get_beta(m-1) or use a range m:=0..19 and beta[m:=get_beta(m).