cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Help! Odesolve and Pdesolve questions

regcurry
14-Alexandrite

Help! Odesolve and Pdesolve questions

I am new to using the Odesolve and Pdesolve functions; see attached Mathcad 15 file.

1. Okay, I figured out that the independent variable of Odesolver must be x and cannot be another variable like t.
  2. I also discovered that the x range cannot be defined as a 2 row 1 column vector even though the Mathcad 11 manual indicates that is possible.  This must have changed.  However, it is possible in the Pdesolver.
  3. Okay, I discovered that the independent variable must be an integer in integer steps, so I cannot define times less than 1.
  4. As shown in the attached Mathcad 15 file, I can solve a simpler form of the transmission line equations for a buried line where V is assumed constant over the line with the Odesolver.  I am able to include  time (i.e. x) varying resistance and inductance of the buried line with a time varying driver E(x).

5. In the solution to this ODE as shown in the attached, how do I determine the actual values of x (i.e., the actual time values).
  6. Now, when I try to solve the complete buried transmission line equations with the Pdesolver, I get the error that V is undefined as shown in the attached.  Why?

with R(t) and L(t) the same as in the above example, and Gg(t), and Cg(t) similarly defined
  7. And, as in 5 above, how do I determine the actual values of t if I ever get this solved?

Thanks much for any help,

Reg Curry

Reg
7 REPLIES 7
-MFra-
21-Topaz II
(To:regcurry)

Hi Reg Curry,

The partial derivatives of the unknown functions are not written correctly.

pde solve.jpg

with their related initial and boundary conditions ....