cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

2nd Order, Non-Linear ODE (Forced response/MCK system)

standish
1-Newbie

2nd Order, Non-Linear ODE (Forced response/MCK system)

Dear All,

I am new to both MathCAD and the problem in hand, so have some novice questions and also hoping for some general strategy and where-to-go-from-here guidance …

I’ve derived an equation of motion for a mechanism, which is a 2nd order, non-linear ODE.  It’s an M-C-K type equation describing both angular and linear motion.  I’ve rewritten it with all angular terms re-defined as linear terms which has made it quite cumbersome.  I want to solve for displacement and time.

I tried using Odesolve, but couldn’t make this work with the full ODE (smaller chunks tested the syntax as OK, but seems it can’t cope with the full equation).  I’ve now manually re-written it as a 1st order equation and use rkfixed which seems to work.It's probably not the most elegant/efficient approach so will appreciate any suggestions for improvement here.

I stripped all units out while trying to make Odesolve work, and haven’t yet attempted to reinsert them, is doing so advisable with rkfixed?  I guess without units, the user must ensure the inputs are correct then apply units to the output manually?  I’ve currently used dummy values for constants while I worked on solving the ODE so the values won’t make sense yet.

Also, is it possible to use Lagrangian notation in rkfixed?  I found I had to swap to Leibniz to get it to work so the derivation (10 pages) uses one system and solution the other.  It would be nice to be consistent without having to re-write the whole derivation in Leibniz!