cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Implicit differentiation

peterkirby
1-Newbie

Implicit differentiation

I'm new to mathcad. Can someone please explain to mein detail the steps needed for mathcad15 to carry out implicit differentiation. The specic example I'm looking at is xy+y^3 = sec(y^2). Thanks in advance. Pete.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Nope. Here is your problem: isn't the same vertical bar which is in the programming toolbar than the used for symbolic combination of more than one symbolic statmen

t. To add more than one symbolic command you mus to type Ctrl + Shift + period. In the image, this was done four times

img.gif

For the Given command I feel that you can learn about it in the quick sheets; they are much better than the usual help. Check the worksheet "

Solving Nonlinear Systems of Equations" under "Solver Equations".

Regards. Alvaro

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

If you are learn about implicit differentiation, your example isn't the better to an introductory notes. In the attached you can found the explicit derivative of the function implicitly defined by your relationship.

Regards. Alvaro.

Symbolic solution for the implicit derivative added.

Regards. Alvaro.

Alvaro, many thanks for taking the time to help me. I think I'm able to follow the symbolic solution except for the right hand side of the line starting "eq(x,y,y'):=. It has a symbol I don't recognize, followed by a left-pointing arrow. Can you please tell me the key strokes needed for the right hand side of this expression, then I think I will be ok! Again, many thanks. Peter.