cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Problems with Singularities; New to Simulate

MarkEvans
1-Newbie

Problems with Singularities; New to Simulate

All,

I am new to the world of FE analysis and I am trying to teach myself how to use Creo Simulate (aka Mechanica) so that I can begin to perform meaningful analysis on various parts/assemblies that I will be designing. With that being said, I am hoping you might be able to help me out.

I wanted to perform my first analysis on a problem with a known closed form solution in order to compare results between the two. I chose to look at the probelm below with the beam being made out of steel.

TIFF MAE_1.jpg

Positive: I was able to constrain the model, apply the loads, mesh the model using AutoGEM controls, run an analysis, and look at my results.

Negative: My expected results appear that they are being overshadowed by the support reaction on the left hand side of the figure which is causing a singularity and extremely high stresses in this location. In short, when I view the results, the beam appears as one solid color because the stresses throughout the beam are significantly less than those located at the support reaction. I also recieve a warning message eluding to this also.

I did some reading on dealing with singularities and how you can implement an 'Isolate for Exclusion' AutoGEM control to address this type of issue but I was unable to make any progress when I tried to implement this. My beam still looks the same and the results are the same for all practical purposes.

Here is what I would like to know:

What do I need to do in order to resolve this issue and obtain meaningful results and graphs?