cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

regarding absorber stage modelling

ptc-5491269
1-Newbie

regarding absorber stage modelling

Hi All,

I am new to Mathcad and i am trying to design a framework for absorber modelling.

With a simple function i am able to solve the mass and energy balance for the absorber on a vertical slice of the packing with 3 horizontal sections.

But when i try to do the same for the vertical section.

It gives the error.

Thanks

Lisa

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

H San,

try this...

regards

Andy

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Hi Lisa,

I don't know if its all of the problem, but MathCad does struggle with units.

For some of your functions you are returning variables with units of either mol/s or K & this is not allowed in MC15.

In these cases you have to strip the ubits & reinstate them later. see attachment.

regards

Andy

Hi Westerman,

Thanks for the reply. I am considering a 3 horizontal section and 3 vertical section of the packing. I started with one vertical slice. But when i solve i could see that for my liquid it gives a 4th column.

I didnt understnad that.

In your attached file the last section with function f2 when it tries to solve both rows and columns it gives me an error saying the function should be unitless. How can i handle this.

Also instead of calling the f0 function again and again would it be possible to speed up the calculation by any means.

thanks for your time.

san

HI,

The problem you are having with the 4th row stems from the way you address the various arrays.

Capture.PNG

For GMout & TGMout you are creating a new variable & storing the output of the fo function in elements 0-2 ( [i ).