cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Christoffel symbols and symbolic variables

Ninetrees
1-Newbie

Christoffel symbols and symbolic variables

Quite some time ago, I did some work with symbolics that led mt to try to create Christoffel symbols in Mathcad. (I can do it in Mathematica, though I am not very good with it, and I can do it in MATLAB, using MATLAB symbolics, but it is not very clean, and certainly not very readable.) I gave it several shots in M15, and have attached the results.

The pieces seem to work, but not the aggregate...should I just do it in Mathematica instead of beating myself up here? Part of the problem here seems to be that symbolics are not handled as well as in Mathematica and MATLAB, at least as far as initial declarations go. I tried simply not declaring t,r,theta,phi, and living with the undeclared complaint, but no joy there either.

~R~

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

It seemed that the func make_gamma (and others) does not need the dimension (t,r,...) names passed on the parm list. I deleted them, and the result was the same.