cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

unit problem-rad/s to Hz,1/s

ptc-5651887
1-Newbie

unit problem-rad/s to Hz,1/s

I'm new to MathCad,And I have some dificulties When I try to calculate natural frequency for a system.I find the unit can not convert rightly from rad/s to Hz,

As you can see in the attached worksheet,when I change the unit of the circular frequency from rad/s to Hz,the value 144.644 will not change.Does the system see them as the same unit?but I know that the circular frequecy is not same as frenquency.

Thanks!

Best Regards!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Frequency and angular frequency sure differ by a factor 2*pi, but the unit for both is 1/seconds.

You may say that frequency is oscillationscycles per seconds while angular frequency is radians per seconds. Both oscillations/cycles and radians are unitless. Radians is a pseudounit and not a conversion factor. So while both are of unit 1/s, this is called Hertz for frequency only, never for angular frequency. So to state clearly that a frequency is angular frequency, you may add the rad and write rad/s, but you mustn't. Think of rad as being 1.

That said it should be clear that there cannot be an automatic conversion between the two by stating different units, as the units for both basically are the same. rad is not a factor *(2pi)!

You have to do it as you already did - divide by 1/(2*pi) if you want to see the natural spring frequency, don't do it if you want to see it as angular frequency. Both will be of units 1/s and be of different value. Its up to you if you like to change the units seen to Hz for the one and to rad/s for the other.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4