cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

"This Value Must Be a Function"--Issue with Prime 3.0

mferguson-2
1-Newbie

"This Value Must Be a Function"--Issue with Prime 3.0

So, I'm completely new to Mathcad and am literally using it for my first time ever for a grad assignment. I am having difficulties with a couple of things in particular.

First, and most importantly, I am getting an error which states "This value must be a function." Having defined the term and function in question previously, I am just not sure where I'm going wrong. I'm sure it's something easy about how I'm typing it in or what I forgot to do, but I need someone more experienced to help me out.

Secondly, in the "error 2" worksheet attached, I am getting an error about incompatible units. If anyone could help me with one or both of these errors, I'd greatly appreciate it. Sorry for my lack of knowledge of the program.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

1) You have to type a multiplication sign between "w" and "(", otherwise a fuction w(..) is assumed. After you correct this error ou then run into a unit mismatch - check your formulas.

2) In your program body you have used the vector index when you typed L_h but you should have used the literal index. There is also a unit mismatch in the second ("parabolic") part of your routine where you try to add an area and a length.

Furthermore I guess that in the first part you should not use "if ... if .. else ..." but rather "if.. else if ... else..."

P.S.: You don't have to apology for lack of knowledge.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7