cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Bursting DITA Question

OlegVolkov
1-Newbie

Bursting DITA Question

Hello!

I'm bursting dita maps into Windchill, I'm not experienced enough in Xpath

I made some bursting rules which put each XML Topic together with related Images into a folder named same as first 20 characters of the Title of that topic/task (I based on http://communities.ptc.com/thread/58544 thread).

For example: if I upload some DITA map containing topicref link to topic with a title "Why bursting is good for you", so there will be the folder "/Topics/Why bursting is goo/" crated in my WC context and also XML and related images will be placed in this folder.

What I wish to do... I would like that my "Topics" folder(which has a static name now) where my generared subfolders for each topic are located would be named like a Title in whole map. So each topic would be bursted to

WC CONTEXT HOME/MapTitle/TopicTitle/Topic.xml

The problem is that i guess I need to add some string that gets the Title in Map to topic's location rules, but that title is in another file... No idea how do it.

I have attached my bursting rules.

3 REPLIES 3

Hi Oleg,

What you are trying to do goes against grain of what DITA was invented to achieve.

DITA was invented to allow authors to create reusable "chunks" of content that could be referenced across many map files. It seems that you are authoring your Topics for a single map file. Will there be no reuse of the Topics across maps? If so, saving them to a folder with the map could be confusing for users down the line and you may inadvertantly have duplication.