cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

How do you use undefined variables?

krieder
1-Newbie

How do you use undefined variables?

Hey everyone 🙂

So, I'm working on a system of equations, in which we have some unknown variables and some variables which are known (known in the sense that they can be anything that is chosen later on, they do not have any set numerical value yet).

I'm new to MathCad. How exactly do I go about using variables which have no actual numeral value yet? They are simply symbols that should be used when performing the necessary calculations to show how they relate to the unknown variables in the system. I haven't exactly been able to find an answer in the help documents I tried to search in. All they did show was how to define variables that either had numerical values, or stood in relation to some other variables. I just need to be able to name some identities that can be moved around as if they were just any type of number.

Thank you all 🙂

5 REPLIES 5
RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:krieder)

Define a function. In the function MyFunc(x):=A*sin(x), A would need to be defined before the function, but x would not because it's a parameter of the function. If you had MyFunc(x,A):=A*sin(x), then neither A or x need to be defined before the function.

Thanks for the quick response!

However, is this really the only way to do this? The reason I'm asking is that I have a system of 8 unknown variables, where there is 5 known values, which we could call AOL, VCC, B, VBE, and VLED1, as well as R1, R2, and R3 (Resistor values) are something that will simply be chosen later on, depending on the design that you want.