cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Differential equation

MartonTimea
1-Newbie

Differential equation

Hi. I would like to find z from the differential equation below as a function of time. Can anyone help me with this? All the other terms are constant. I would really appreciate some help as I am new to mathcad. Thank you in advance.

Capture.PNG

10 REPLIES 10

Here's an example. The attached is in MC15 format. In case you aren't using MC15 I've inserted an image below (if you're using Prime you don't need Given, you put the ode inside a solve block). Obviously, you will need to replace the data with your own!

ode1.PNG

Alan

Hi thank you for the quick answer. This is very helpful. However i need to compute z for a time interval of 1680 seconds. And if i do this, the graphic does not compute anything. Could you tell em what is wrong?

I have attached the file as well.

Don't know why Odesolve is crashing; but the older versions still work.

You forgot the power of 5/3 on the derivative term Fred. Put this on and rkfixed doesn't like it!

The problem is that z goes negative fairly quickly (less than 20 seconds) with the values and ODE specified. This would make z^(5/3) return a complex number and Mathcad's ODE solvers don't know what to do with that.

The data and equations need to be looked at more carefully (perhaps it's just that the initial value is far too small, perhaps the z term should be the absolute value of z, perhaps ...). Without knowing where the equation and data come from I can't be more specific.

Alan