cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Units issue

CurlyBen
1-Newbie

Units issue

Hi all

Apologies if this is covered elsewhere, I've done some searching but not found anything that quite covers what I'm looking at. I'm brand new to Mathcad, I started using it on Friday (v14 at work, trial copy of Prime 3 at home) and I'm trying to enter a fairly simple equation into it. The equation gives the output torque of a hydraulic motor:

T=(displacement * change in pressure)/ 20 * pi

Displacement is in cc, deltaP in bar and torque in Nm. If I just enter the numbers, all is fine. However, if I add units the result is divided by 10, and I can't figure out why. I realise Mathcad must think the units are inconsistent if left at face value, but they're not. Is there any way I can correct this behaviour, or at the very least be notified of it? I'm reluctant simply to leave out units, and I don't want to modify the equation as if somebody came along later and checked my numbers with a calculator it would appear I'd made an error.

Cheers

Ben

25 REPLIES 25

Please post your worksheet so we see what you have done and also state which result (including units) you had expected as opposed to the result Mathcad gave you.

CC = 10^-6 m^3 and bar = 10^5 N/m^2

Mathcad works in the underlying units so you should probably only divide by 2 for consistency!

Alan

Thanks for the replies. I have attached a worksheet with the equation in - once with units and once without. The equation without units gives the correct answer (the motor in question exists and is used on a winch - if the equation with units in was correct it would only be able to lift about a quarter of a ton, and I've seen it lift over two tons!).